The Diesel Garage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
TDG Mafia # 81
1,903 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am having a problem with the system. It appears to be overpressurizing, if I drive it the Low Coolant light comes on. I can then twist the cap and the coolant comes back up to its normal level. And yes the coolant level actually drops to the add mark until I twist the cap off.

There is a new coolant cap on the truck from GMC used the VIN to make sure it was the proper one.

What am I overlooking?

Tony

·
TDG Mafia # 81
1,903 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Never mind guys, I filled it up with the engine off and cold, and it seems to have done the trick. Thanks, just disregard this post as I am still new to the surge tank concept and this Dmax. No owners manual is not helping me out either.

Tony

·
TDG Mafia # 81
1,903 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
That was indepth, and very helpful. Thank you for that post, I will be filling the system for the next few days to make sure it is ok. Thanks again and I will be in contact before I head to Sedona, that way you will have a V2 ready for me.

Tony

·
3,939 Posts
Dont forget to "burp" the system. There's a small screw on the top of the thermostat housing that you are supposed to loosen as you run the engine and add coolant, this allows air to release.

Just dont forget to tighten it back up after you're done filling.....if you dont, you'll eventually get a geyser similar to Old Faithful under your hood. Seen it happen...

·
TDG Mafia # 81
1,903 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I will do that shortly, the lil man just fell asleep for a nap, so I have an hour or two to get some additional work done. Thanks again,

Tony

·
TDG Mafia # 81
1,903 Posts
Discussion Starter #7