The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I really need some help here! I'm new to PSD and have recently bought an early '99 350 srw cc 4x4 6 speed. I have read everything I can get my hands, I think. When looking at mods I just get more and more confused about what I need or if I need any. So...I thought I would just explain what I need from this truck and see if you guys could suggest what I need. Not just mods but anything!

I've read up the difference between the '99 and the '99.5 but it dosen't compute in practical, workable terms. Maybe someone can explain all the problems I have, or will have because of model date (May '98) because I really want to fix this stuff before I'm stuck in the Baja with my wife and a murder charge looming.
So here goes...

I want reliable, economical, practical, necessary performance.
I'm too old to race anything, this truck will will spend as much time off road as on. I will carry a 1800lb cab over camper and pull another 1/2 to 1 ton trailer at times.
I don't want to crawl up hills, and I don't want to die because I can't stop going down them. I do my own work and can manage most everything that anybody with trashed back can. I have already put an AFe intake on this and have an MBRP 4" turbo back in the garage for this week. Some of my questions are...
Do I need a new turbo?
What about injectors, new 99.5 pedetal, wastegate, bypass oil, on and on and on...Thanks for any help!

·
504 Posts
I would get some gauges. EGT, and boost. Put the EGT gauge pre turbo. Then I would get a chip. A wildman chip, or DP tuner or Elite Diesel. They are all great chips. I am betting after that you would be really happy with the performance. Then do some of the easy nearly free mods. For you I would turn you EBPV into and exhaust brake. Very easy to do.

·
4,024 Posts