The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
TDG Singles Outlaw #10
1,097 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
i have a question for the guys that live in cold weather.

i've never used my block heater before since i live in Louisiana & Florida but im going to NY next week.

At what temps do i plug the truck in?
Is it every day or just the days im going to use it?

if only on days i use it.. How many hours before?

·
1,324 Posts
What oil are you using? This will affect things.

Buy a $12 timer and set it for minimum 2hours before you plan to fire it up. Weeks when snow is forecasted I leave it plugged into the timer and it turns on at 3AM to 6AM and 4PM to 6PM.

I use 5w40 and it would start down to 0 but it's hard on things in my opinion.

If your going to Western NY you will get introduced to a little thing called lake effect snow. It's been very cold this winter.

Don't forget to get some antigel and start using it before you come up!

Safe travels.

Edit - confirm you have a plug they didn't always include the cord but the block would have a heater. If you have never used it I wouldn't assume it's there if it's a southern truck.

·
TDG Singles Outlaw #10
1,097 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
im going to Long Island-NYC area.

I will be towing my camper (slow) because ive only driven in snow a handfull of time's and never while towing. So this trip will be a first.:)

I just took my truck to a Ford dealer by the house for a oil change and checkup before the trip.

I told them where i was going but im not sure what grade oil they used.

Reactions: Weld engineer

·
1,212 Posts
Dealerships usually put in 15W40. I wouldn't want to run that in the winter.

It really is advisable to know exactly what fluids and filters are used - I wouldn't assume that the right choice was made just because it was a dealership.

·
1,324 Posts
:whs