The Diesel Garage banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new at the compression ignition stuff and this will be my first diesel. I have been looking for a Ford dually with a 7.3 but ran into a 2006 F450 Lariet 6 speed with a 6.7 Cummins and lots of performance upgrades. I think it's worth 20K but he wants 30K.
I know he has lots into it but is a 2006 non stock dually worth that much? I can buy an 08 King Ranch with half the milage for the same dollars. I am worried about the electronics and who can do the repairs. Should I pay the extra 10K? :help

282 Posts
What's the mileage on the truck? What's the mileage on the motor? How well was the conversion done? What type of things will you be fixing on the 6.4 in the '08? These are all questions and things you should consider. Sounds like a cool truck.

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Truck has 160K. He says the motor has 40K but there is no way to tell. He says the conversion was done professionally. Want should i look for? if it was a "do it yourself" i would imagine wiring along with fit and finish.
The reason i ask is that i built a Pro Street custom V Twin bike the i have been riding for ten years. It has less that 8K miles and now i want to sell it to buy a dually. It cost me 30K to build it and the bike shop told me it's worth less than the same year Harley because it's not a factory peice. Would I be on the loosing end if i bought a Ford that was powered by a Dodge?

282 Posts
Yes, I would check wiring and stuff. But like you said the resale probably isn't as good.

Reactions: yikes

3 Posts