The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this sight but not to the 6.0. I have an sct x3 and one thing I don't like about it is when I set cruise. If you start going up a small hill the truck over fueles and speeds up a couple mph. Then it slows down a couple mph under where I originally set it. I like the extra power but I like being able to use cruise. I am thinking that if I just used a ficm tune instead I won't have this problem. I am thinking about sending it in and getting the ficm 40 from php. Who is running a ficm tune out there and what do you all think ? The truck is just a little too sluggish stock for my liking.

·
1,324 Posts
I am new to this sight but not to the 6.0. I have an sct x3 and one thing I don't like about it is when I set cruise. If you start going up a small hill the truck over fueles and speeds up a couple mph. Then it slows down a couple mph under where I originally set it. I like the extra power but I like being able to use cruise. I am thinking that if I just used a ficm tune instead I won't have this problem. I am thinking about sending it in and getting the ficm 40 from php. Who is running a ficm tune out there and what do you all think ? The truck is just a little too sluggish stock for my liking.
I run a custom tow tune via my SCT and have Atlas 40 in my FICM. Check out Ed at ficmrepair.com. Great guy.

My truck will lock and climb very nice with no downshifting.

Recommended you monitor EGT's with a pyrometer in the exhaust manifold. I stay below 1200 and have to keep an eye on it since towing it will stay locked up. I will ease off and let it downshift and all is good. My exhaust is basically stock and I'm not willing to shell out 700$ for an exhaust.

Highly recommend the Atlas 40. You want a custom SCT tune just in case your using the canned ones that came with it.

Reactions: MT KingRanch

·
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3