The Diesel Garage banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought a 6.2 mated to a 4L80E this last weekend. My intentions for it is to swap the tranny for a 4 speed, something more friendly to speed and put in a Model A rat rod. I guess my biggest question is what should I be doing to this 6.2 to make it fast? For trans I was thinking a Saginaw or Muncie. As long as it is a 4 bolt main will it work with this motor? For rear end I was thinking Ford 9" with either 4:11 gears or 3:73. Does it sound like I am on the right track for this build? I am new to diesels and would appreciate any help.
Thanks

·
Registered
21 Posts
Different, thats for sure. If you want top end speed, your gears will be too low for a diesel and in all actuallity, your car will be substantially lighter than the trucks that engine was intended for. So, I would think even if its for quarter mile performance, you'd still be able to get away with something in the 3.08 to 3.40 range. I'm pretty sure the 6.2 will adequately relocate the gears outside the case of a saginaw, so I would avoid that. As far as a 4spd car tranny goes, I would roll with a super T10 or an M-22 rockcrusher. The 9 in should hold. I think everyoune here would agree, turbo it, bump the injection pump timing a titch, and bump the fuel adjustment in the pump (provided some or all of these things have not been already done). Larger than stock exhaust system will also help, I don't know exactly what size to go with as I'm still trying to find out the ideal size. Main thing to remember with any diesel, you can't crank out the rpms like with a gasser. They will die a horrible explosive death. My guess may be a little high, but I think 4500 or 5000 is about max for a 6.2. Hope this help at least a little. Good Luck.

·
Registered
2,224 Posts
bbbadboy said:
My guess may be a little high, but I think 4500 or 5000 is about max for a 6.2. Hope this help at least a little. Good Luck.