The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new at this, so excuse me if I don't have all of the abreviations right.

I have a 99 Ford F350 and the injector drive module is bad, or so the diagnostic scanner says, the guy that done the scan said it was in the fender well on the drivers side, that turns out to be the ECM, Ford tells me it is behind the dash on the passenger side, under the cowl, does anybody have a diagram or know what has to come out to get to it?

·
Premium Member
4,090 Posts
It is under the inner fender well on the driver's side. Jack the truck up, take the tire off, remove the inner fender and look for the black box.

That is your IDM.

Your ECM/PCM is under the Emergency Brake on the firewall. It has to be accessed from under the hood as well as inside to remove.

I don't know who at Ford told you otherwise, but having removed both of them (the PCM more than a few times) the "Ford" person either got confused or doesn't know these trucks.

prt

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for your help, I don't think the guy at Ford knew, he did not sound to convincing, sounded like he was looking at a pic, I thought it would be odd to have to remove the air-bag and heater core, and there wern't enough wires headed that way for me to believe the IDM was there.

May have been a cruel April fools joke ?

Thanks again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

·
97 Posts
Yeah - I have mine out right now. Take out enough of the fender liner bolts that you can reach up behind the F250 emblem, and then you will need a 10mm socket to get the 1 bolt out of the middle of the harness, and then the 2 that hold it in it's casing to the truck inner framing....

Out of curiosity, what are your symptoms??

·
391 Posts