The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
on saturday my 02 LB7 ran perfect (and it was @10deg. outside). that afternoon i put on a juice box and took it for a drive, it ran great then too. today i got in it for my weekly 335mi drive south. @ 100 mi into the trip i thought it started dieseling a little louder than normal, but didnt think much of(maybe i was paying extra attention to sounds due to the new box). another 100mi later the dieseling was REALLY getting louder.

i thought it might be some bad fuel, so i filled up again with BP fuel. it didnt really change much. it hasnt lost any noticable power, but does have a loud "dieseling" from what seem like the top-end, and the milage is down a bit.

im new to the diesel world, and have no ideas what to do at this point. i dont know if it would be from gel'd fuel(it was about 15-20 on the drive), dropped injector, bad pump, etc..

i need some elp please..

thanks, ray

·
TDG Mafia # 81
1,903 Posts
:whs

·
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
i did this morning on my way to work, and it sounded the same.

let me try and describe what it sounds like. have you ever used a long handle screwdriver to try and find a noise in a motor. you move it around from place to place trying to hear where a noise is coming from, while putting your ear to the handle of the screwdriver. the sound im hearing is like you put the screwdriver on an air pump. but its lound enough that i can hear it in the cab over the normal dieseling.

its got me a bit upset cause im not familiar with diesels enough to figure it out myself.

·
3,939 Posts
In order of cheapest fix to expensive:

Check the bale connectors where the Juice plugged in. Make sure all the little pin connectors are pushed in the plug and seated. Sometimes those things can get pushed back slightly and strange things start happening.