The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
But besides that....I just bought a new truck with a bunch of Banks add ons...(Yeah...I know...They're junk). Anyway, I'm trying to figure out if my truck has a Banks 6 Gun on it.

Where do I look to find out if it has the module?

I bought the truck used with a Banks exhaust, Banks intake manifold and a Banks Ram Air......so my guess is that if the truck does have a programmer on it...it's gonna be a Banks, right?

But, the only problem is that I am new to these trucks and have no idea of where to look to see if it is actually equipped with the tuner.

After doing some research, I am pretty dead set on going with a SCT Tune.

I plan on doing a lot of highway driving and towing.

·
Registered
415 Posts
if it has a six gun on it it will be plugged into the pcm which is behind the drivers side battery. it will be a red box with black cables. one connector will be into pcm middle connector and the factory connector will be plugged into it. so if the middle connector in the pcm has all black wires in it just fallow the wires youll find it.

·
3,051 Posts
bunch of Banks add ons...(Yeah...I know...They're junk).

Actually, I think the Banks exhaust and intake stuff is pretty good. It's only his 6.0 programmers that I've heard some people have trouble with, but then again some people don't. I like the Banks exhaust system that I have on my truck, its quiet and it fit like a glove when installing. Just my opinion. Like everyones said so far, if you don't see any dials or display module in the cab, then likely it's been removed before you got the truck, or it never had one. Does your truck have gauges installed (pyro+boost)? Usually, if it already has gauges, then it likely had a programmer as well. If you don't have gauges, I would recommend you get them, especially for towing and a programmer.

·
Registered
664 Posts