The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im new to the scene but ive studying diesels for a while but what is a lift pump and what does it do?

·
Registered
316 Posts
The lift pump pulls fuel out of the tank and feeds it at positive pressure to the injection pump. On your truck, LP failures are very common and usually result in Injection (IP) failure as well.

New? Welcome. Now go and get yourself a Fuel Pressure gauge so you can keep tas on your LP. Even under stock power they fail like crazy.

·
TDG Mafia Member #21
1,345 Posts
:whs You definatly need a fp gauge to keep uour injection pump healthy.

·
Registered
5 Posts
I dont wanna start a fight but I disagree. Ithink the first step is upgrade the fuel system. At the very least an aux lift pump and low pressure light.My fuel press with this setup is 18 psi at idle, and I have not seen the light come on yet.With the smarty and quadzilla I can, and regalarly do, rev this combo to 34-3500 rpms with no fueling problems.If Ineed to upgrade after my injectors it would be to a cam and mechanical pump.Just my narrow minded opinion.

·
TDG Mafia Member #21
1,345 Posts
I agree with you to a point. I would only say that you don't need to replace the factory lp until it gets weak. When that time comes upgrade to an aftermarket pump. If the factory pump holds good pressure it is just as good as any other pump as far as the IP is concerned. I don't really believe in spending money on things I don't need until I need them. When he starts adding mods he will probably need one but until then he could spend the money on other goodies for the truck.

That being said, If he has the money lying around.......gauges, aftermarket lp, and an intake would make nice first mods.

·
Registered
5 Posts