The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im new to the duramax scene ive been a cummins guy but sick of tranny problems im goin to test drive an 06 tomorrow how do i tell lly or lbz the truck has 75000 on it what problems should i look for truck is a 3500drw thanks for any help

·
CRAZY CANUCK
4,320 Posts
the 8th character in the VIN will be a '2' for LLY and a 'D' for LBZ

You can Post the VIN# down in the vin check section and it will give you an idea of all warranty work that has been done and a comprehensive list of all options that the truck came with from the factory

Problems? just look for normal maintenance stuff, it should hardly smoke black when you jump on the throttle, and shouldn't smoke at all the rest of the time, check for oil leaks

the transmission cooler lines are known to leak on these trucks, but its not too hard to fix, check for signs of a tuner, and for signs of abuse, check the transmission oil for a burnt smell and or brown colour.... make sure everything works, and that it doesnt make any unusually loud noises

Good luck, And never hesitate to ask questions :happymugs

·
Pardue the Traveler
4,023 Posts
:whs

·
Registered
9 Posts
britewhiteram pretty much got you covered. The good thing about the 06 lly is that it has a 6 speed trans and is just a detuned lbz. You will want to change the turbo mouthpiece as they are restrictive and can cause overheating if you haul any heavy loads. Id check powersteering fluid/pump, i know mine went shortly after i got mine.

·
CRAZY CANUCK
4,320 Posts
britewhiteram pretty much got you covered. The good thing about the 06 lly is that it has a 6 speed trans and is just a detuned lbz. You will want to change the turbo mouthpiece as they are restrictive and can cause overheating if you haul any heavy loads. Id check powersteering fluid/pump, i know mine went shortly after i got mine.