The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi there im new to the diesel world i have a 2006 6.0l ford f250 ,my son got me an [email protected] cold air intake for my birthday so well installed it,then 3 weeks later my engine light comes on so i take it to the dealer and they said it was the mass air flow sensor,they said it had oil on it,my question is is that normal and will it keep happening if i keep the [email protected] intake on thanks for all the help,also whats a good code reader for that truck .i cant stand takeing it to the dealer to have it worked on thanks

·
1,661 Posts
hi there im new to the diesel world i have a 2006 6.0l ford f250 ,my son got me an [email protected] cold air intake for my birthday so well installed it,then 3 weeks later my engine light comes on so i take it to the dealer and they said it was the mass air flow sensor,they said it had oil on it,my question is is that normal and will it keep happening if i keep the [email protected] intake on thanks for all the help,also whats a good code reader for that truck .i cant stand takeing it to the dealer to have it worked on thanks
I'm not sure about the S&B, But the K&N if over oiled can damage the MAF sensor. I learned the hard way with my wife's car.

As far as code readers, most like to use Autoenginuity software for a laptop or PDA. a.k.a AE

·
423 Posts
The MAF Sensor is so easy to clean, it's not worth worrying about. I have a K&N air box and filter. I clean and re-oil the filter, wait 2 tanks of fuel, then clean the MAF Sensor. The Truck will run a little rough until the MAF sensor is cleaned, but, other than that, this procedure works great. After the MAF is cleaned the truck runs great again.