The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I am new to the garage. I am over at the dieselplace everyday but I have changed breeds hence the name here. I am not new to diesels just the cummins. I had a 99 7.3pos I mean psd. I also had a 01 dmax which I loved except for the bad injectors and head gaskets and numerous little things. But now I have a 97 12v that I pickup next thursday. I need help getting the pics to post. Now that you know a little bit about me I would like some advice. I am a hp junkie like most of you and need to know how to suck more power out of this thing and how much its going to cost. Don't hold back any suggestions because of price, but please don't abbreviate and give an explanation of what you are suggesting. Thanks guys. Glad to be here

·
Super Moderator
3,190 Posts
You've had diesels already, so the gauges are to be expected. After that, you can grind your fuel plate flat, then install it in the forward-most position(forward gives the most fuel), and here's the article for it. http://www.thedieselgarage.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6815
Then, a governer spring kit(GSK) to let it rev up, there's a 3k, 4k, and 5k spring kit($120-299). You need heavier valve springs if you spin past 3400.
Injectors...370's are good(especially for $3-400 a set), but if you want big hp, you can get EDM's from several sources(about $1200). EDM's are like Extrude honing, but make big power with less smoke & less EGT.
You'll have to O-ring the head gasket & install head studs($450-500) for that kind of power, so to feed all that fuel you'll be looking at either twin turbos($1000-6000) or a big single($800-2500). A good auto tranny, or clutch will be mandatory. I hope this gives you a good start, you get your hands dirty with a 12 valve, not like plugging in a D'max module & programming it.

·
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #3