The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So once upon a time(yes long story) I was a pilot. I lost my medical due to heart problems, so I decided to try investment real estate and; being a real estate agent. I found out-like I was afraid of,- that sales is just not my thing. I also discovered that playing with the wife's nest egg to buy rental property was very stressful and not very lucrative. The last year or so I have been thinking about becoming a long haul truck driver. The plan was to drive full-time for a year or two and then get my own truck and drive every other month. This plan is now scraped also; because, all I have talked to- say you will barley pay for the truck doing that.(by the way I can get a DOT medical just not an FAA for flying).

So now I am thinking of buying a Dodge 3500 DRW to add to my fleet of a Dodge 2500 SRW and a F350(gasoline) and starting a (part time)Towing and Hauling business. I am looking at trucks from 94-2002--- and that brings me to my first question.

1-My current diesel is an 02 so I kind of know what to look for, and watch out for in the 98.5-2002 but; what do I need to watch out for with a 94-98 12v(price range 6000-12000)?

My LLC is in the mail, and I got a class E license today so I am just getting started.

2-I own a small single axle trailer and have access to a single car carrier and a large eight wheel flatbed.
Anyone have any advice on insurance for truck trailer and (the loads) I will be carrying+ do I need to own the larger trailers?

PS I have looked at some RV hauling on the Internet and it seems like they are mostly employee jobs, and I am determined to remain and independent driver.