The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
257 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently pruchased a bone stock 08 CC DRW 4wd manual trans, absolutely love it. Here's the problem....my temp gauge has stayed just a hair to the left of dead center straight up while driving since I got it about 2,500 miles ago, runs great no problems. Today I put a 15k tractor on my trailer and headed down the road, pulled it no problem, easily I thought. Then it started pegging the coolant temp gauge out about every 5-10 miles. It would go from normal to pegged instantly and the reduced power would come on. I pulled over checked the fluids and every thing was full and dry. The gauge would go back to normal and few miles down the road it would go from normal to pegged again, instantly. Got rid of the tractor and didn't do it again all the way home. Any ideas? thermostat? I'm new to the 6.4s and was really loving it until tonight.

·
186 Posts
Bad thermostats perhaps? You don't hear of many overheating issues with the 6.4 since it moves a huge amount of coolant and has a large radiator.

·
606 Posts
My money would be on the sensor for the gauge. Did the fan come on?

·
257 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The fan was running, but I figured it might since I was pulling a trailer, and especially if it thought is was in a overheat or hot situation. It was just strange how it went from normal to pegged instantly but went back to normal gradually.

·
186 Posts
My money would be on the sensor for the gauge. Did the fan come on?
The symptoms sound to me more like it really was overheating, not a flaky sensor since the issue disappeared once he was no longer towing. It sounds to me like something is preventing proper coolant circulation and since we know there have been issues with the thermostats, that would be my first suspect to investigate.

·
257 Posts
Discussion Starter #6