The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im pretty new to the diesel world im looking into buying my first diesel ive grown up around nothing but dodges but seeing all these error code questions and injector pump issues being talked about makes me a little nervouse what is some good truck shopping advice what should I look for and the rite questions to ask? thanks guys

·
Registered
284 Posts
Get a manual is the only thing I can recommend...the auto trannys have had a lot of problems...

·
1,055 Posts
Depends what you want to do. The autos are a little to upgrade, but if you are going to race it auto is the way to go. Really the biggest problem is the lift pumps go bad, if they are not caught early enough they can take out the I/P. Get a gauge and check your f/p, it will give you a little to go on. If you have the money get an '03 or up. Less problems, but if you are going to give it way more power then the factory you are going to break things, I can gurrenty that.

·
Registered
2,189 Posts
6cummins said:
im pretty new to the diesel world im looking into buying my first diesel ive grown up around nothing but dodges but seeing all these error code questions and injector pump issues being talked about makes me a little nervouse what is some good truck shopping advice what should I look for and the rite questions to ask? thanks guys
Alot of the error codes that get discussed are from us tinkering around with our trucks. The injection pump issues are still there but takin care right can still last along time. Both of my trucks still have the original injection pumps (1 is bad). But both trucks have over 200,000 thousand on the clock. A local had to replace his injection pump after 350,000 Miles and then another one at 700,000 miles. That's the only thing he's ever done to the engine. Take that as you will

199eightcummins said:
Get a manual is the only thing I can recommend...the auto trannys have had a lot of problems...