The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm kinda new to the diesel performance scene, so i have a couple of questions. I've got everything done to the truck in my sig. I pull a 48ft enclosed gooseneck quite frequently for work. The truck pulls it pretty good, but I was wondering if there was a better set up that i could go to to be able to pull it better(ie. different chip or box). There are just times that I wish I had a little more grunt. Possibly would a particular set of injectors and a turbo get me what i'm looking for?

Thanks, Steven

·
6,337 Posts
Your at about the limit with the stock injectors and turbo, so I would say yes thats a correct line of thought, You could add pro-pain, but it has its ups and downs. You could add a water injection kit, do you have issues with towing in the higher HP programs? I can pull up to about 10,000+ on the trailer with my 125 setting and have no EGT issues...

I added a GTP-38r a few months ago, but have not been happy with the surge and oil leaks... I would look at a Spearco or HTTP turbo, cheaper and can be rebuild.

·
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, thats what i was thinking.

·
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I normally pull our 48'er on the 75 setting. EGT's run about 1000 at 85 or 90 as long as i'm not pulling a steep hill.

·
6,337 Posts
97stroker said:
sounds like u need a peterbuilt or maybe a kenworth pulling a 48 ft trailer

He's quite fine pulling that trailer with a F-350-450. Its not the length, but the weight.

Sounds like your doing fine!!! Add some water if you want, I love my kit.

·
what does not kill you ..
229 Posts
The spearco is a great CAC. You will love the difference. I installed a 6.0 version since it is bigger

wftree

·
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
EGT is post turbo. I bought the truck from a friend who had already installed it that way. I haven't fixed that issue yet, but i will soon.

·
6,337 Posts