The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all this is my first time posting here, i hope i did it right:shrug:
I am asking this question for my friend.
Are there any options for a '97 PSD with an auto? I was thinkin maybe a Transcommand but not sure?
What all does a tranny chip do, and what does it help?

·
Registered
790 Posts
well for the cost of a trans command or i believe bullydog also makes something similar, he could have a custom chip that gives him extra power and makes the tranny do exactly what he wants (tc lockup, shift pts, line pressure).

Luke

·
833 Posts
In all honest you're better off installing a good shiftkit to help the tranny rather than doing it electronically. I'd suggest a trangso tugger kit or a factory tech valve body to help the tranny shift better.

A good programmer can do the same thing with the engine chip that you're going to accomplish w/ a trans module. The ECM controls both engine & trans.

·
0 Posts
Yep...gotta agree with Brandon here. Your tranny will appreciate you much better if you mechanically up the pressure. The factory tech valve body is a great addition. Check with Jeremy at Long Island Performance Diesel. He can get them.

Upping the line pressure via software is really hard on the stock pump and shortens the life.

And welcome to the Garage. Enjoy your stay.

·
Super Moderator
4,247 Posts
Dieselpwrdredneck said:
Hello all this is my first time posting here, i hope i did it right:shrug:
I am asking this question for my friend.
Are there any options for a '97 PSD with an auto? I was thinkin maybe a Transcommand but not sure?
Welcome!

Unless your friend has some cash stashed away for a new trans, I would NOT screw with the line pressure.

No matter how you increase it, the affect on the pump is exactly the same, as well as all the other components that will be affected.