The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to diesel's and tuning. I have a 2003 Ford F350 6.0 SRW LB that I use for a daily driver. I also occasionally tow a 35 foot 5ver that weighs in around 12,500. On my first tow the other day, truck was rather sluggish until it got up to speed but still performed less than desired/expected compared to towing same load with friends same truck with Bank tuner. I have considered the Triple Dog by Bully Dog and will probably try their "Try before buy" 3 hour trial.

Question:

Since I am not into performance tuning for racing and use truck as everyday driver with occasional heavy towing, what would be my best option for an economy/power tuner? I know that this site is heavy SCT but need some unbiased opinions on all before buying based on my needs.
Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
171 Posts
I have the flashpaq by superchip. Doesn't have the greatest power but it the tranny tunning is very good. The power is more than enough to surfice what you want it for. I have a toy hauler that I pull coming in at about 11,000 and I don't have much trouble at all. I also have a lift and a tire and wheel setup that is heavier than most, why I don't know but I lost alot of power when I added them, and I think that has alot to do with my power loss. Flash paq is a great tuner all together. You can down load more programs off the internet and it has a speedo recalibrater than is pretty accurate according to my gps. I think if you were to go with the flash paq you would deffinetly LOVE it.:Thumbup:

·
6,337 Posts
The reason most are pro SCT is due to the fact it is the safest, most ajustable, with the most end user options of anything on the market. You can get tunes from any of the vendors to do anything you want. You can store as may tunes as you want on your computer and load any three into the tuner. You can do live data streaming, read and clear codes.