The Diesel Garage banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just learning the ins and outs of diesel tuning. As I've stated before, we've always just drove the darn things. We didn't mess with the way they ran. Now I have one to tinker with, and I'm tinkering.
My question of the moment is this: I've read a lot of posts here, and on other cummins related sites about faster spooling turbos and such, and I wanted to know if any brand of turbo, whether it be Holset, Garrett, KKK, or some other brand was any better than the others. I am looking at turbos on ebuy and I'm seeing a lot of different types, and I would like some professional opinions. Anyone want to give their .02 here?

Brad

·
T.D.G. Mafia Member #88
578 Posts
Borg warner S300 62/14 gated. Awesome all around turbo. Get it for under 900 and laugh at everones super b whish is the same turbo for 1200. Or if it's a daily driver and not gonna be pushe past 40psi of boost the HX35 with a compressor upgrade can be equivelent. The holsets just use alot smaller shaft so they don't last as long as the borg warners (aka. switzers).

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah CP, it'll be a DD, probably never see more than 30 on the gauge. I doubt it'll pull more than our big *** boat back and forth to the lake regularly. But I want my Father-in-laws knuckles to turn white while we're gettin there...

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
CP, You'll have to 'splain what you mean by hybrid.

When it comes to turbos, I know one thing: It's workin, or it ain't. I understand the concept, and I know faster spooling is gooder, but that's it...I've never had one apart, I don't want to experiment with the only one I have, and I don't want to be without one. So, I've went to the old rule; If it ain't broke, don't screw with it.

That leaves me coming here and pickin the experts' brains...

:rolleyes:

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks CP.