The Diesel Garage banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
310 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK NEWBIE HERE, I AM A LITTLE CONFUSED I THINK ARE YOU SUPPOSED TO LAY WAX ON FIRST THEN WIPE CLEAN THEN LAY ON POLISH AND CLEAN WITH MICRO?:gaah

·
1,660 Posts
Nope you got it backwards my friend.

polish first. polish will remove light blemishes and shine the paint. follow up with a wax to protect the surface after you polish. Wax is a protector, if you polish after you wax you will remove the wax.

check out adams they have nice products.

·
Green Goose No Juice
160 Posts
How long should i wait until i polish? My truck is 3 months old.. I waxed it for the first time about 2 weeks ago for the first time

·
2,126 Posts
How long should i wait until i polish? My truck is 3 months old.. I waxed it for the first time about 2 weeks ago for the first time
You can polish anytime, but you are going to want to strip your wax before polishing.

·
803 Posts
I think you will be surprised at how rough the factory paint job is. After you wash the entire vehicle ( I use dawn dish soap to strip all the old wax off) Get a baggie sandwich bag and place you hand inside it. Gentle run you fingers over the paint, and if it's rough, then I'd suggest a clay bar be used. If it feels smooth, then Swirl & Haze remover, polish to a shine and wax to protect it.

Good Luck..

·
3 Posts

·
PitBullPowerStroker
154 Posts
I like to do a thorough slow washing and then follow with a claybar.
Then i use a liquid paint cleaner, then a polish and lastly a coat of wax.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Always polish before putting on paint protection.

Polishing is paint correction.
Wax is paint protection.

Paint correction:
  • sanding
  • compound
  • polish

Paint Protection:
  • car wax
  • car sealant
  • ceramic coating
  • paint protection film

Here you have a full 8-step guide on how to prepare a car for paint protection:
Best Tools for Ceramic Coating Your Car!